UGC NET Exam Buddhist Jaina Gandhian and Peace Studies Syllabus

Code No. : 60

UGC NET Paper II and Paper III ( Part A & B )
Unit – I

  • Life of Gautama Buddha.
  • Buddhist Councils and Theravada (Hinayana) as well as Mahayana Schools.
  • Introduction of Buddhism to Tibet, China and Japan.
  • Pali Tripitaka Literature.
  • Lives and works of Buddhaghosa, Dignanga and Dharmakirti.

Unit – II

  • Sila, Samadhi and Prajna.
  • Four Arya Satyas.
  • Arya Astangika Marga.
  • Pratityasamutpada.
  • Nirvana.

Unit – III

  • Buddhist Architecture – Bodh Gaya ( Mahabodhi ) Temple, Ajanta Cave – temple, Sanchi Stupa.
  • Buddhist Sculpture – Origin and Development of Buddha – image.
  • Status of Women in Buddhism.
  • Impact of Buddhism on Society.
  • Buddhism and Ecology.

Unit – IV

  • Life of Lord Rsabhadeva, Parsvanatha and Mahavira.
  • Jaina Councils and Schools – Digambara and Svetambara.
  • Prakrit Agama Literature.
  • Lives and works of Acarya Kundakunda, Umasvati and Haribhadrasuri.
  • Main Centres of Jaina Learning – Shravanabelgola, Jesalmera, Ahmedabad and Varanasi.

Unit – V

  • Five Vratas – Anuvratas and Mahavratas – Ahimsa, Satya, Asteya, Brahmacarya and Aparigraha.
  • Six Substances and Seven Fundamentals.
  • Triratna – Samyag Darsana, Jnana and Caritra.
  • Anekantavada and Syadvada.
  • Five kinds of knowledge – Mati, Sruti, Avadhi, Manahparyaya and Kevalajnana.

Unit – VI

  • Jaina Architecture – Ellora Cave, Khajuraho Temples and Mount Abu Temples.
  • Jaina Iconography – Images from Mathura and Shravanabelgola.
  • Status of Women in Jainism.
  • Impact of Jainism on Society – Vegetarianism ( Shakahar ), Four kinds of Charity ( Dana ).
  • Jainism and Ecology.

Unit – VII

  • Indian and Western sources of Influence on Gandhi.
  • Early childhood and life in England.
  • Gandhiji’s experiment of Satyagraha in South Africa.
  • Satyagraha Campaigns and Indian Freedom Movement.
  • Gandhiana.

Unit – VIII

  • Foundations of Gandhian Thought – God, Truth and Non – Violence.
  • Individual, State, Swaraj, Rights and Duties.
  • Philosophy of Sarvodaya.
  • Ends and Means.
  • Religion and Politics.

Unit – IX

  • Society and Varnasrama Dharma.
  • Ashram Vows.
  • Civilization and Education.
  • Trusteeship.
  • Constructive Programme, Sustainable Development and Swadeshi.

Unit – X

  • Concept of Peace.
  • Causes and Forms of Violence.
  • Conflict – Resolution and Satyagraha.
  • Peace Movements in India and Abroad.
  • Non – Violent and Ecology.

UGC NET Exam Syllabus Index

[catlist name=”UGC NET Syllabus



Coaching Guru

My dream is to create an environment where everyone can get access to free education material - the environment can be on internet or it can be in the physical world. With Little footsteps everyday, I am inching towards my goal. Feel free to suggest me how could I deliver and reach my goal effectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *